2020 International Poetry Competition

£1000 first prize for a single poem

Guest Judge: Mona Arshi

We are delighted to announce that the following fifty poets have been long listed. We were inundated with submissions and thank all the poets who took the time to send us their work.

Adam Lowe
Akshayaa Chittibabu
Alexandra Melville
Andrew George
April Yee
Arjunan Manuelpillai
Christian Wethered
Claire Dyer
David Butler
Denisa Vítová
Dipo Baruwa-Etti
Elizabeth Neal
Emma Simon
Fiona Larkin
Hannah-Lee Osborn
Heidi Beck
Helena Li
Jacqueline Schaalje
Joanne Brandon
Jonathan Edwards
Jonathan Greenhause
Joolz Sparks
Kathryn Bevis
Kathy Pimlott
Katie Griffiths
Laura Davis
Laura Theis
Lisa Kelly
Maia Elsner
Mark Fiddes
Martyn Crucefix
Mel Pryor
Michaela Coplen
Nathan Evans
Nicky Kippax
Nora Nadjarian
Pam Thomspon
Paul Carney
Paul Stephenson
Rachel Lee
Rod Whitworth
Sarah Barnsley
Selina Rodrigues
Sharon Black
Tabitha Hayward
Theresa Muñoz
TJ Dema
Vanessa Lampert
William Stephenson

Mona Arshi

is a poet and human rights lawyer. Her debut collection Small Hands won the Forward Prize for best first collection in 2015. Mona’s second collection, Dear Big Gods, was published in 2019 and both are available from Pavilion Press. She has also been a prizewinner in the Magma, Troubadour and Manchester creative writing competitions… and this year, judged the National Poetry Competition.

Mona has performed her work at over 40 festivals internationally and in 2017 was on the judging panel for the Forward Prize and co-hosted the awards at the Royal Festival Hall. She can be heard regularly on our radios including on Front Row and was commissioned by Radio 4 for The Odyssey Project: My Name is Nobody in 2017. Mona teaches regularly in schools and colleges and has curated poetry events at the House of Commons with EVAW (End Violence Against Women) on International Woman’s Day. She co-edited a special issue of POEM magazine on the theme of BREXIT in June 2017.

Order the 2019 anthology from our store here:  http://www.livecanon.co.uk/store/product/2019-anthology

Watch here some of the winning poems, from 2018, 2017, 2016 and 2015...